FARMINGTON — Five Franklin County Commission seats up for election Nov. 5 to represent the five new districts.

County residents voted 5,673 to 4,077 in November 2021 to increase the number of commission districts to five and stagger terms of each of the five commissioners effective in November 2024.

Nomination petitions for the five seats are due back for enrolled party candidates by March 15. For those who are unenrolled in a political party it is June 1, according to Emily Cook of the Maine Secretary of State Office.

Petitions are available at the Maine Secretary Office, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions at 101 State House Station in Augusta, or online under candidate information.

In addition, a four-year sheriff’s term and a four-year register of probate term are up for election. Sheriff Scott Nichols Sr. and Probate Registrar Heidi Jordan hold those positions.

Residents will cast ballots in their respective voting towns for the Primary Election on June 11.


Gov. Janet Mills signed an emergency apportionment bill in January 2022 that changed the districts’ makeup slightly. The districts are based on population, so each commissioner will represent about the same number of people.

The districts will have staggered terms. District 1, 2 and 3 elected this November will have terms that expire every four years. Districts 4 and 5 commissioners to be elected this November will have a term that expires in November 2026. Commissioner candidates will be elected every four years after that.

Beginning Nov. 5, the five districts will be:

District 1: Farmington, west of the Sandy River, Temple and Wilton.

District 2: The remainder of Farmington.

District 3: Avon, Carthage, Coplin Plantation, Eustis, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River Plantation, Strong, Weld and Alder Stream, Coburn Gore, Jim Pond, Lang, Perkins and Washington townships.

District 4: Carrabassett Valley, Industry, Kingfield, New Sharon, New Vineyard, Dallas Plantation and Freeman, Madrid, Salem and Wyman townships.

District 5: Chesterville and Jay.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story