Three area players are included on the list of four finalists for Travis Roy Award finalists, which is given to the top senior boys hockey player in Class A.

Lewiston’s Dylan Blue, Oxford Hills’ Kadan Neureuther and St. Dominic Academy’s Timothee Ouellette are joined as finalists by Tobey Lappin of Portland/South Portland.

Neureuther, a team captain for the Lake Region/Oxford Hills/Fryeburg Ice Cats, has tallied 36 points (18 goals, 18 assists), which tied Ouellette for the most in Class A.

“Kadan’s work ethic, dedication, leadership and respect for all make him the perfect candidate to be considered for this honor,” a news release from the Class A Hockey Association said. “Kadan leads by example and pushes his teammates to be better and work harder.”

Blue, who assisted on a goal in Lewiston’s Class A semifinal victory over Thornton on Wednesday, has 25 points (15 goals, 10 assists) this season.

“Dylan’s confidence, level-headedness, and competitive nature not only benefit his own performance but also inspire and motivate his teammates,” the news release said.


Ouellette racked up 14 goals and 22 assists for the Saints this season. He has been chosen as a team captain the past two seasons and was named first-team all-state both years.

“He is a leader in every sense of the word. He leads by example and makes all of his teammates better,” the news release said.

The winner of the Travis Roy Award will be announced Saturday, March 16, at the Class A Hockey Banquet in Brunswick.

EVANS SPEAR AWARD: Leavitt senior Will Keach is a nominee for the Evans Spears Award, which is given to the most outstanding senior boys hockey player in Class B South.

Joining Keach as nominees are Cole Allen of Gorham, Garrett Countway of Brunswick, Charlie Moore of Greely, Aidan McQuaide of York and David Swift of Cheverus/Yarmouth.

Keach has led the B South finalist Poland/Leavitt/Oak Hill/Gray-New Gloucester Kings in scoring the past two seasons. This year, he also led Class B South with 23 goals and 25 assists for a total of 48 points.

According to a news release, the Evans Spear Award honors not only a player’s “significant on-ice success at the varsity hockey level in their high school career, but equally in terms of character, passion, and spirit.”

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.