NORTH WATERFORD – Nearly 50 Republicans attended the Nov. 9 meeting of the Oxford County Republican Committee at the North Waterford Congregational Church, where a turkey dinner was served.

Vice Chairman Jim Hamper led the celebration of the party’s success, which translated to holding all its legislative seats and picking up one more from the Democrats with the election of Bruce Hanley (R-Paris).

The party also defeated a Democratic incumbent to make the county commission an all-Republican board with the election of Dave Duguay. Only Paula Smith running in the Rumford House district and Rob Cameron for the Rumford State Senate seat fell short while opposing incumbents. They were given standing ovations for their efforts on behalf of the party.

Other winners present included Senator-elect Dave Hastings (R-Fryeburg), Rep.-elect Jim Hamper (R-Oxford), Rep. Randy Hotham (R-Dixfield), Rep. Arlan Jodrey (R-Bethel), Rep. Sawin Millett (R-Waterford), Rep. Richard Sykes (R-Harrison), representing the Oxford County towns of Denmark, Lovell and Sweden, County Commissioner Steve Merrill and Register of Probate Tom Winsor. All made comments and thanked the county committee for its support.

Erlon Jones of Fryeburg, the 2004 campaign co-coordinator for Oxford County, reported on his two months on the job where he worked with lots of campaigns focusing on advertisements, mailings and press releases. He expressed his pleasure in the Republican victory, winning 13 out of the 15 races affecting the county.

Ted Heidrich expressed his thanks for all the support he received during his years in the Maine House from the county committee and the party. His grandson, David, reported on his youth leadership activities, which include the Young Americans Foundation and supporting the conservative cause in discussion and debates at Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School.

The Lincoln Day Dinner for February 2005 was discussed and may be held in Rumford this year. A committee will investigate the possibilities.

State Committeeman Stan Howe will chair a Nominating Committee with Norm Ferguson and Erlon Jones to report on a slate for the next meeting to be voted on at the January meeting.

State Committeewoman Becky Kendall reported that Kathy Watson, state committee chairwoman, will not seek re-election.

The next meeting was set for Tuesday, Dec. 14, at the Norway Congregational Church.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.