LEWISTON – The speaker of the Maine House of Representatives has appointed local legislators to joint standing committees based on their personal areas of expertise.

Speaker Glenn Cummings appointed:

• Rep. Margaret Craven, D-Lewiston, a third-term legislator, to her second term on the Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs. The Appropriations Committee reviews and revises the state budget.

• Rep. Deb Simpson, D-Auburn, to House chair of the Committee on Judiciary in her fourth term of service in the Legislature. The Judiciary Committee has oversight of the judicial system, judicial appointments, the budget of the judicial branch, and the budget of the Attorney General’s office. The committee also hears bills related to criminal procedure, civil procedure, child protection, family law, child support and other issues considered by the courts.

• Rep. Elaine Makas, D-Lewiston, to her second term on the Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs. She is serving her third term in the Legislature.

• Rep. Will Walcott, D-Lewiston, to his fourth term on the Committee on Health and Human Services. He requested to serve on the committee again to add longevity to the collective knowledge of the committee.

• Rep. Richard Wagner, D-Lewiston, serving his first term in the Legislature, to the Committee on Natural Resources. The committee hears legislation relating to air and water quality, natural resource protection, site location and development laws, waste disposal and oversight of the Department of Environmental Protection.

• Rep. Mark Samson, D-Auburn, also serving in the Legislature for the first time, to the Committee on Business, Research and Economic Development.