NORWAY – Selectmen’s Chairman Robert J. “Bobby” Walker lost his bid for re-election Tuesday night when a former selectman and the chairman of the Budget Committee snagged the two open seats.

Former Selectman Irene Millett received 409 of the 1,160 votes cast; Bruce Cook received 284; Walker 202 and Joseph F. Tracy Sr. 78 votes.

A total of 1,160 of the approximate 3,700 registered voters cast ballots.

“I feel like a kid in a candy store,” said Cook shortly after 8 p.m. when polls closed at the Fire Station. “I am so thrilled.”

Cook said he will have to give up his seat on the Budget Committee, but he will continue his affiliation with Norway Downtown and the Norway-Paris Community Television.

“I’m very humbled, and I’m still in shock,” said Millett, a selectman from 1996 to 2000, who was reached at her home last night. Both Millett and Cook thanked voters for their support and said they looked forward to serving the community.

Walker could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.

Walker, Millett, Cook and volunteer firefighter Joseph Tracey sought the two open seats. Selectman George Tibbetts Jr. decided not to seek re-election.

In other election matters, incumbent library Trustee Charley Longley, Hiliary Ware and Wesley Wentworth were re-elected. Trustee Dennis Gray decided not to seek re-election this year.

Incumbent Donald Ware was returned to the SAD 17 board.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.