FARMINGTON — On May 7, in coordination with national nurses’ week, nursing leaders and peers recognized nine Franklin Memorial Hospital nurses who were nominated for the organization’s third annual Excellence in Nursing Award.

The award recognizes contributions by FMH nurses who support the advancement of nursing.

Nominees included Russel Buswell, emergency department; Eileen Caffrey, care support; Taffy Davis, education; Bethany Giberson, med/surg/ICU; Trudy Iams, Franklin Health Internal Medicine; Alicia Lowe, surgical services; Kimberly Moreau, Franklin Health Orthopaedics; Kristen Welch, care management; and Nancy Walters, med/surg.

At the end of the awards ceremony, Kristen Welch was named recipient of the award. Nominated by Cindy Whittier, Welch was cited for being an extraordinary person and clinician who epitomizes nursing at its best. She has worked in multiple hospital departments and made contributions to patient care excellence in each.

Special recognition was also given to employees Douglas Dunlap, hospital chaplain, and Kristen Grondin, administrative assistant, who were declared honorary nurses for the support they have given to the hospital, staff and nurses.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.