AUBURN — Vincent Ratsavong, director/choreographer for Lewiston/Auburn Community Little Theatre’s Aug.8-17 production of “Hairspray” is announcing the cast and crew. He is assisted by Nakesha Kay Warren as assistant director/producer and by Courtney Babbidge as music director in this hugely successful Broadway musical that that won eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical in 2003. The musical inspired the major motion picture in 2007 with the same name.

The directors are thrilled to be the first community theater in the State of Maine to produce “Hairspray.” Lyrics are by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman and Music also by Shaiman. Book is by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. The directors have kept the cast on its toes the past several weeks in three to four weekly rehearsals mastering the intricate choreography and songs in the show. Ratsavong, who is also the choreographer, assisted by Audrey Martin, has set the bar very high. The set and costumes are also coming together and the directors are pleased with the progress.

The cast as follows: Megan Malloy will play Tracy Turnblad; Michael Jenkins is Link Larkin; Olivia Mayo is Amber Von Tussle; Sophie Messina is Penny Pingleton; Derrick Lacasse is Corny Collins; Jake Boyce is Seaweed J. Stubbs; Stephanie Lynn is Velma Von Tussle; Megan Guynes is Little Inez; Kay Warren is Motormouth Maybelle; Dan Kane is Wilbur Turnblad; John Nutting is Edna Turnblad; Chriara Ferrante is Prudy Pingleton; Katie Luu is Lorraine; Sophie Wood is Cindy; Jayra Bray is Judine; Jon Adil is Duane; Jay Barrett is the Principal and also plays multiple roles.

The roles of the nicest kids are played by Leslie Reed, Heather Marichal, Elizabeth Joseph, Ashley Gallagher, Christopher Hodgkin, Cody Watson, Tyler Pulk and Robert Dall. The Denizens are Owen Kane, Carter Jedrey-Irvin, Keara Heap, Dominique Cyr, Briley Bell, Jillian Rombalski, Olivia Botting, Richard MacKenzie, Delaney Harrington, Ethan Rombalski, Mallory Haynes-White, Chantal Cyr, Madeleine DuBois, Mai Luu and Mia Morin. The Denizens’ Moms are Robin Robbins and Charlotte Morin.

Ratsavong’s crew is follows: Jennifer Rombalski, assistant to the director; Jackie McDonald, stage manager, assisted by Josie French; Karen Mayo and Ellen Hodgkin, co-costumers; Carol Hodgkin, set décor; Christopher Belanger, light design; Chad Gagnon and Derek Johnson, sound design; Phil Vampatella, set construction , assisted by Chad Rombalski; Melody Driscoll, prompter; and Rachel Morin, publicist.

Tickets are $18; seniors, $15; children 12 and under, $12 and may be reserved by calling the box office at (207) 783-0958 or online at The show runs Aug. 8-17. Curtain is at 7:30 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays; Sunday matinees are 2 p.m. Please note there will be a double performance on Saturday, Aug. 16 at 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Also a performance will be held on Thursday, Aug. 14, at 7:30 p.m. All performances are at Great Falls Performing Arts Center, 30 Academy St., Auburn.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.