WILTON — Paul Berkey was unanimously voted in as chairman of the Board of Selectpersons Tuesday night. Tiffany Maiuri was elected Vice-Chairman.

The board agreed to hire Wright-Pierce for engineering work needed for the Downtown Revitalization project.

The work, limited to $30,000, will be funded from the town’s Tax Increment Financing account. They will submit bills as the work is done, Town Manager Rhonda Irish said.

There are only two seasons to do this project and we are already in to July, Irish said. The town received notification of the $400,000 grant for the downtown project in May.

“We need to move quickly but correctly,” she said.

The engineering company has already worked with Darryl Sterling, development consultant, on the Community Development Block Grant application, she said. They have also provided engineering work for many other downtowns.


“We can’t do anything till we decide on an engineer,” she said. 

The board also unanimously accepted a change in the parking and traffic ordinance to allow overnight parking in the High Street parking lot and changes to the Wilson Stream parking lot.  

The trial change from now till July 1, 2016 will provide for tenant parking from downtown buildings which cannot provide parking, she said.

The board also decided to try a 70-percent stocks and 30-percent bond investment fund with Androscoggin Bank for town employee retirement funds. The state is turning the Public Employee Retirement System(PERS) funds for municipal employees over to the town.

The board approved closing of the boat launch during the Blueberry Festival.  The boat launch will be closed from 1 to 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 7, for boat rides provides by Friends of Wilson Lake.

The boat launch will close at 9 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 8, and remain closed throughout the rest of the day to allow for set up of the annual fireworks display.

The board appointed members to several town committees including:  Finance Committee, Mark Shibles, 3-year term; Jeff Rowe, 2-year term; Appeals Board, Margaret Donaghue, 3-year; Jeff Rowe, 3-year;  Recreation Committee, Laurel Walker, 3-year; Richard Huntley, 3- year; Planning Board, Peter Chamberlain, 5-year term; Michael Leclair, 5-years; Conservation Commission, Jeff Chaisson, Sharon Rainey, Martha Martin, all 3-year terms.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: