FARMINGTON — Franklin Savings Bank has announced its 2016 Franklin Scholars. 

Local Franklin Scholars are:

Telstar Regional High School: Amber Delaney Souve of Hanover, daughter of Faye and Derek Souve. She plans to major in business administration at the University of Maine.

Spruce Mountain High School: Chad Richards of Livermore Falls, son of Tracy Sturtevant. He plans to major in business management at Central Maine Community College.

Mt. Blue High School: Alexander Bunnell of Wilton, son of Chris and Sheena Bunnell. He plans to major in business administration at the University of New Hampshire.

Mt. Blue High School: Caitlin Kane of Wilton, daughter of Gavin and Carole Kane. She plans to major in international business at Maine Maritime Academy.

Rangeley Lakes Regional School: Michaela Shorey of Oquossoc, daughter of Raymond Shorey Jr. and Helene Levy. She plans to major in diagnostic medical sonography at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Services.

Mountain Valley High School: Ryley Flynn of Mexico, son of Greg and Caroline Flynn. She plans to major in business management at Thomas College.

Mt. Abram High School: Courtland David Talmage of Kingfield, son of David and Julie Talmage. He plans to major in computer science at Bowdoin College.

Dirigo High School: Gabrielle Rose Chartier of Dixfield, daughter of Rene and Tracy Chartier. She plans to major in business at the University of Maine.

Each scholar received $3,000 each .Scholarships were awarded to students who plan to attend a four-year college with studies concentrating in accounting, finance, marketing, management, computer sciences or other business-related courses. Graduating seniors were selected based largely on high academic achievement, which alone represented 70 percent of the criteria for scholarship selection. The remaining 30 percent was based on community citizenship, participation in extracurricular activities, such as athletics, band, school clubs or drama and financial need. The bank’s Community Development Foundation grants the scholarships to the schools, which select the student and administer the scholarship. 

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.