LEWISTON — Four students from the Maine College of Health Professions were recently honored in an essay competition sponsored by the Maine Society of Radiologic Technologists and the Radiologic Educators of Maine.

Emma Schalk of Sabattus earned a first-place award and $350 for her paper “The Medical Imaging Repercussions of Thyroid Radiosensitivity.” She’s enrolled in the Radiologic Technology program.

Kersti Bayne of Standish was recognized as a third-place honoree with $100 for her paper “Radium 223 Dichloride or Xofigo: What is it Used For?” She is a nuclear medicine technology major.

Christine Doyle and Robin Perkins, MCHP radiology students, received honorable mentions.

Essays had to address a technical aspect of an imaging modality or therapy, and were judged on content, presentation and originality. The competition was open to students enrolled in a radiologic science program in Maine.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.