AUBURN — The Lewiston Auburn Kiwanis Club has announced this year’s recipients of its annual scholarship awards.

The students were recognized during their respective high school awards nights at the end of the school year.

Scholarships were awarded to the following high school seniors: Anthony DeGone of Leavitt Area High School; Emily Dumont, Lewiston High School; David Wesley Haire II, Saint Dominic Academy; Nicholas Huston, Lisbon High School; Abigail L’Abbe, Saint Dominic Academy; and Riley McCurdy, Edward Little High School.

Scholarship applications are distributed in April to local high schools, and club members evaluate all applicants for a combination of community service, extracurricular activities, academic grades and submitted letters of recommendation. To be eligible, applicants must either be members of their school’s Key Club or have made significant contributions in their schools and/or communities by way of volunteer work.

Five scholarships of $750 are awarded annually to one recipient from each school, and one $1,000 scholarship is sometimes awarded at the discretion of the club to an applicant whom club members believe went above and beyond in either academics or community service. Scholarship funds are dispersed at the end of the students’ first semesters, and are paid directly to the college or university after transcripts are submitted to the Kiwanis Club scholarship committee.

FMI: [email protected],,

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.