PORTLAND — The Mitchell Institute, a Maine-based nonprofit founded by Sen. George Mitchell to improve college outcomes for young Mainers, has announced its 2017 scholars.

The 2017 recipients of the Mitchell Scholarship, representing 133 high schools from every community in Maine, each will receive a scholarship award for $9,000 to be paid out in four equal installments, as well as ongoing personal, academic and professional support.

The area Mitchell Scholars and college choices are:

Androscoggin County 

Edward Little High School: Yasmin Farah, Tufts University.

Leavitt Area High School: Noah Pierce, University of New England, and Melissa Shepherd, University of Southern Maine.

Lewiston High School: Halima Aden, University of Southern Maine, and Deni Federico, Husson University.

Lisbon High School: Tanton Mattson, Maine Maritime Academy.

Oak Hill High School: Makenzie LeBlanc, Newbury College.

Poland Regional High School: Hope Dubois, University of New England.

Cumberland County

Gray-New Gloucester High School: John Phillips, Bates College.

Lake Region High School: Travis Harden, Mount Ida College.

Windham High School: Roman Habibzai, American University.

Franklin County

Mt. Abram High School: Risa Marble, University of Maine at Farmington, and Brian Taylor, University of Southern Maine.

Mt. Blue High School: Brooklyn Bonnevie, University of New England.

Rangeley Lakes Regional School: Owen Sinclair, Marymount Manhattan University.

Spruce Mountain High School: Camryn Berry, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Sarah Dudley-Taylor, Central Maine Community College.

Kennebec County

Maranacook Community High School: Olivia Plourde, Husson University.

Monmouth Academy: Rebecca Bero, Hofstra, and Gina Schultz, University of Maine at Farmington.

Winthrop High School: Matthew Ingram, University of Maine.

Oxford County

Buckfield High School: Hunter Foss, University of Southern Maine.

Dirigo High School: Ashley Hutchinson, University of Maine at Farmington.

Fryeburg Academy: Hannah Frye, St. Lawrence University.

Mountain Valley High School: Liza White, University of Maine.

Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School: Grace Gallant, Plymouth State University, and Emily Lathrop, University of Maine at Farmington.

Sacopee Valley High School: Autumn Buddemeyer, University of New England.

Telstar High School: Kristi Hanscom, University of Southern Maine.

Sagadahoc County

Mt. Ararat High School: Joseph Beale, Holy Cross.

Richmond High School: Hunter Curtis, University of Maine.

Somerset County

Carrabec High School: Allyn Foss III, University of Maine.

Madison Area Memorial High School: Ravin Davis, University of New England, and Nicholas Morales, University of New England.

Every year, the Mitchell Scholarship is awarded to graduating seniors from Maine’s public high schools. Selection is based on academic performance, financial need and community impact.

FMI: [email protected]ellinstitute.org.

Comments are not available on this story.