LEWISTON — Tree Street Youth welcomed seven new members to their board of directors on Oct. 9.

Abdimalik Maalim was born in Somalia but raised in If’o Kenya. In 2006, he arrived in the United States and attended Lewiston High School where he graduated in 2011. He then went on to receive his associate degree in general studies from Central Maine Community College in 2016, where he now works as a learning and advising representative helping students register for classes.

David French is employed as a substance abuse counselor at Health Care Resources in Lewiston. French was born in Zimbabwe, Africa. In 1996, he immigrated to the United States and completed his undergraduate diploma in biblical studies at Pinecrest Bible Training Center in 1999.

Ayman Mohammad lives in Lewiston but was born in East Africa and moved to the United States seven years ago. He studied residential and commercial electricity at Washington County Community College and now works with Cianbro. Mohammad has been a part of the Tree Street organization since it began.

Steve Labonte is a juvenile community corrections officer for Maine Department of Corrections. Labonte received his bachelor’s degree in leadership and organizational studies, summa cum laude, from the University of Southern Maine.

Trevis Knapp is the Auburn branch manager for Key Bank. While attending the University of Maine at Farmington, he started volunteering in the local communities and became passionate about working with and inspiring students in the school districts.

Kirk Egge is the chief information officer at Mechanics Savings Bank. Egge has over 20 years of experience in guiding nonprofits in implementing and managing technology solutions. Egge enjoys spending time in the mountains with his two young children and wife, Anita.

Mohamed Mohamed grew up in Djibouti and moved to Maine in 2011 with his family. He attended Lewiston High School where he graduated in 2013 with a National Honors Society designation. Mohamed is an alum of Tree Street and works at Bangor Savings Bank as a customer service specialist.

Tree Street Youth board members are pictured in front from left, Betty Robinson, Paula Marcus-Platz, Ayman Mohammad and Kirk Egge; back, Trevis Knapp, Chris Hanks, Faye Luppi, Abdimalik Maalim, Steve Labonte, Marty Deschaines and Mohamed Mohamed. Board members absent were Lin Dehetre, Chris Delamater, David French and LaQiana Perez-Saxon.

Comments are no longer available on this story