DIXFIELD — Charlie Houghton scored his 1,000th career point in Dirigo’s 80-33 boys basketball victory over Buckfield on Wednesday.

Houghton, a senior, reached the the milestone on a free throw in the third quarter. He finished with eight points. Nathaniel Wainwright’s 16 points led a group of five Dirigo double-figure scorers. Trenton Hutchinson scored 12 and Bode Gray, Airick Richard and Dakota Tompkins added 10 apiece. Austin Adams also scored eight points for the Cougars (3-0).

Gavin Charest led the Bucks (0-3) with 14 points and Ayden Jefferson had nine.

MOUNTAIN VALLEY 68, WISCASSET 7: Brooke Brown lit up the scoreboard with her 25 points and teammate Maddie Dow supplied 13 in the Falcons’ overwhelming victory against the Wolverines.

Brown also eight steals and three rebounds. Dow helped with six steals and five rebounds and Maisy Chase pulled down 11 rebounds.

The Falcons (2-1) gave up only seven points the entire game. Kailee Colby had four points for Wiscasset.


WINTHROP 65, TELSTAR 29: Morgan Fitchhorn scored 14 points and Madeline Wagner added 13 points as the Ramblers rolled to a win over the Rebels in Bethel.

The undefeated Ramblers (3-0) took a hefty 33-6 lead by halftime.

Telstar’s (0-2) Makenzie Eliot scored 10 points.

KENTS HILL 73, MT. ABRAM 35: Regina Sabirova hit six 3-pointers en route to 22 points to lead Kents Hill over the Roadrunners.

Logan McDonald added 14 points for Kents Hill (2-0), while Naomi McGadney scored 12 and Rose Jenkins added 11.

Josey Arms led the Roadrunners (0-2) with nine points. Jenna Osgood, Jaidyn Stuart and Bailea Haines each had five.


SPRUCE MOUNTAIN 75, CARRABEC 34: Jazmine and Jadyn Pingree scored 19 and 15 points, respectively, to lead the Phoenix (2-0) to a lofty win over the Cobras in North Anson.

Olivia Mastine added 10 points for Spruce.

Molly Hay led the Cobras with 12 points.

ST. DOMINIC 10, MT. ARARAT/LISBON/MORSE 2: Ben Dumais and Erik Jones each recorded a hat trick as the Saints (1-1) beat the Eagles (1-1) at Norway Savings Bank Arena in Auburn.

COACHES HONORED: Three area coaches have been named National Federation of State High School Associations coaches of the year for the 2021-22 school year, the Maine Principals’ Association announced Wednesday.

Leavitt’s Wanda Ward-MacLean, who led the Hornets to the 2021 Class B state championship, is the field hockey coach of the year. She also was chosen as the Section 1 Girls Field Hockey Coach of the Year.

Rangeley’s Jeff Hawksley is the boys Alpine skiing coach of the year, and Mt. Blue’s Emmy Held is the girls Alpine skiing coach of the year. Held coached the Cougars to a state title last winter.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.