AUBURN — Voters went to the polls on Tuesday to elect Auburn School Committee representatives. But in the largely uncontested School Committee election, only the winners of the at-large seats were in question.

At-large challengers Pamela Albert and Patricia Gautier earned the most votes, beating incumbents Faith Fontaine and David Simpson, according to results posted 11:35 p.m. Tuesday.

Albert, an epidemiologist, received the most votes at 2,027, winning her first term on the School Committee. Gautier, who received 1,992 votes, edged out Fontaine for the second seat by just 28 votes. Fontaine has served three terms on the School Committee.

Gautier was previously at-large representative on the School Committee between 2017-19, but lost her reelection bid to Gautier and Simpson in the 2019 elections.

Simpson, who was elected to the committee in 2019, earned 1,773 votes. The fifth contender for the two at-large seats, Jodi Goldrup, received 1,256 votes.

Current Auburn School Committee Chairwoman Karen Mathieu won a second term in an uncontested election for Ward 3. She received 883 votes.


In Ward 5, Daniel Possion, the most senior member of the Auburn School Committee, was elected to his sixth term in an uncontested race with 961 votes.

Clarisa Pérez-Armendáriz, an associate professor of politics and Latin American studies at Bates College, was elected to her first term representing Ward 1 as a write-in candidate with 125 votes. Current Ward 1 representative Korin McGuigan did not run for a second term.

In Ward 2, Pamela Hart won a second term with 1,064 votes. Hart, who is a respiratory therapist in cardiopulmonary rehabilitation at Central Maine Medical Center, ran unopposed.

Brian Belknap was also elected to a second term in Ward 4 with 725 votes.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.